continue to site
"Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths."
- Proverbs 3:5-6
health living travel food shop events blog
home health living travel food shop events jobs trending magazine Contact Us Advertise
2022 Rocky Mountain Emmy® Awards Honors Dr. John Craft with Governors’ Award
By Claire Natale - Thursday Sep 08, 2022
The Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences is pleased to announce it will honor Dr. John Craft with its Governors’ Award during this year’s Rocky Mountain Emmy® Awards ceremony on Saturday, October 1.

As the chapter’s top honor, the Governors’ Award recognizes an individual, organization or company for their achievements in the television industry, as well as their impact on the community.

Dr. Craft is the longest-serving faculty member of the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication, educating students with distinction for nearly half a century. Professor Craft has taught classes in TV news reporting, writing, editing and documentary filmmaking at the undergraduate, master's and Ph.D. levels – forging a new generation of journalists and television production professionals.

Not only has he impacted the lives of thousands of ASU students throughout his career, but Dr. Craft has also provided counsel to fellow educators and media executives, providing outstanding service at the local, regional, national and international levels. He is recognized for pioneering a course in cable and emerging technologies before most households subscribed to cable.

Dr. Craft also spent two terms as a national trustee of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences and was on the board of governors for the Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter for over 20 years in various capacities. He was inducted into the Gold Circle Society of the Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter in 2012, which recognizes 50 years of outstanding service to the industry.

“Education is one of the cornerstones of our academy, and Dr. John Craft exemplifies this by making a significant impact on our organization and the future leadership of our industry,” said Doug Mummert, National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences’ Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter president. “We congratulate Dr. Craft and are proud to bestow the 2022 Governors’ Award upon him.”

Dr. Craft offers students, colleagues and the media industry a wealth of knowledge as an experienced and honored broadcaster, media executive and published author.

In addition to the Governors’ Award, the Rocky Mountain Emmy® Awards on October 1 will honor a diverse selection of exceptional TV production professionals throughout Arizona, New Mexico, Utah and El Centro, California in categories including news, sports, environment, entertainment, weather, politics, education and business. The official list of the 2022 nominees can be found online here.

For more details about the Rocky Mountain Emmy® Awards and to stay up to date with the latest information regarding the upcoming 2022 event, visit

About The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter

NATAS is a professional service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational, and technical achievements within the television industry. The Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter, formed in 1959, represents Arizona, New Mexico, Utah, and El Centro, Calif.